Our staff

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Neomy Storch Senior lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Celia Thompson Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5488

European studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102

French studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Bertrand Bourgeois Lecturer in French Studies Email: bbo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4504
Dr Tess Do Lecturer in French Studies Email: dot@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6987
Professor Véronique Duché A. R. Chisholm Professor of French; Convenor of French Email: veronique.duche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3516
Associate Professor Jacqueline Dutton Associate Dean (Engagement), Faculty of Arts; Associate Professor in French Studies Email: jld@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6985
Dr Andrew McGregor Lecturer in French Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119
Dr Henry Méra Senior Tutor in French Studies Email: hmera@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8129
Ms Diane de Saint-Léger Associate Lecturer in French Studies Email: ddsl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6919
Prof Anne Freadman Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: freadman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 8344 5178
Professor Colin Nettelbeck Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: cnettel@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jane Warren Fellow (Honorary) Email: janelw@unimelb.edu.au

German studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102
Dr Esther Jilovsky Senior Tutor (German) Email: estherj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3826
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher Senior Lecturer Email: heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 8344 5209
Dr Birgit Lang Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of German Email: langb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7667
Professor Alison Lewis Languages Discipline Chair Email: lewisa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5103
Mr Stefan Siemsen Tutor in German studies Email: ssiemsen@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Carina Cals Visitor (Occupational Trainee) Email: carina.cals@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Doris Brigitte Schuepbach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dschu@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: n/a
Professor Gerhard Schulz Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: no-reply5@unimelb.edu.au

Italian studies

Staff member Position Contact
Mr Matthew Absalom Associate Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6986
Ms Elisabetta Ferrari Senior Tutor in Italian Studies Email: eferrari@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5177
Dr Vita Giordano Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: vita@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7666
Professor John Hajek Professor in Italian Studies Email: j.hajek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5168
Dr Gregoria Manzin Cassamarca Lecturer in Italian studies; Fellow (Honorary) Email: manzing@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9645
Dr Andrea Rizzi Australian Research Council Future Fellow 2014-2018; Cassamarca Senior Lecturer in Italian studies Email: arizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6984
Ms Renata Berto Fellow (Honorary) Email: rberto@unimelb.edu.au
Associate Professor Stephen Kolsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdkolsky@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Roberta Trapè Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.trape@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Simon West Fellow (Honorary) Email: swest1@unimelb.edu.au

Linguistics and Applied Linguistics

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Brett Baker Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: bjbaker@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4687
Associate Professor Janet Fletcher Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: janetf@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5190
Dr Paul Gruba Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Applied Linguistics Email: p.gruba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8973
Dr Barbara Kelly Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Linguistics Email: b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8986
Professor Tim Mcnamara Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Deputy Head of School Email: tfmcna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4207
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Jean Mulder Convener of Intensive Academic Program (IAP), Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jmulder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7160
Associate Professor Rachel Nordlinger Associate Professor and Reader in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: racheln@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4227
Assoc. Professor Carsten Roever Discipline Chair of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Applied Linguistics Email: carsten@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4919
Associate Professor Lesley Stirling Convener of Linguistics Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192
Dr Neomy Storch Senior lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Celia Thompson Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5488
Professor Gillian Wigglesworth Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4215
Dr Joe Blythe ARC DECRA Fellow in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: joe.blythe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6051
Mr Josh Clothier Research assistant Email: joshuajc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6383
Dr Susan Douglas Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: sdouglas@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3608
Dr Aung Si Postdoctoral Research fellow Email: aung.si@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4482
Ms Kellie Frost Research assistant LTRC Email: kmfrost@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4944
Dr Jennifer Green ARC Research Fellow in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jag@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3255
Dr Ute Knoch Language and Teaching Research Centre (LTRC) Director; Senior research fellow in LTRC Email: uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5206
Dr Debbie Loakes Researcher in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: dloakes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4777
Dr Susy Macqueen Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: susym@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4886
Mr John Mansfield RUIL postdoctoral researcher Email: jmansfield@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sally O'Hagan Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: sohagan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3971
Dr John Pill Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: tpill@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9763
Dr Ruth Singer DECRA postdoctoral fellow, Research Unit for Indigenous Language Email: rsinger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3774
Dr Nick Thieberger Australian Research Council Future Fellow Email: thien@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8952
Dr Jill Vaughan RUIL postdoctoral researcher Email: j.vaughan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 83440909
Associate Professor Catherine Elder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: caelder@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Constance Ellwood Fellow (Honorary) Email: cellwood@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Anne Fabricius Visitor (Academic) Email: anne.fabricius@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kathryn Hill Fellow (Honorary) Email: kmhill@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Catrin Norrby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: catrinn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Yvette Slaughter Fellow (Honorary) Email: ymslau@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kazuhiro Yasunaga Visitor (Academic) Email: kazuhiro.yasunaga@unimelb.edu.au

Russian studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Robert Lagerberg Senior Lecturer in Russian studies Email: robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 03 8344 5187
Associate Professor Judith Armstrong Fellow (Honorary) Email: j.armstrong@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sally Dalton-Brown Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdalt@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Clarke Fellow (Honorary) Email: jemclar@unimelb.edu.au

Spanish and Latin American studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Lara Anderson Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: laraba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4917
Dr Mara Favoretto Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5183
Associate Professor Adrian Hearn Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow Email: a.hearn@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Alfredo Martinez-Exposito Head, School of Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Dr Vicente Pérez de León Senior Lecturer and Convenor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: vicentep@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4614
Professor John Griffiths Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: jagrif@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Maria Paola Gonzalez Sepulveda Visitor (Academic) Email: mp.gonzalez@unimelb.edu.au

Professional

Staff member Position Contact
Charlotte Morgans Manager in the School of Languages and Linguistics Email: c.morgans@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3612
Mr Rohan Chandran LTRC Administrative Officer (Test development specialist) Email: rohanc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4886
Ms Nadine Forsythe Administrative Assistant Email: nadine.forsythe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7482
Ms Belinda Hofmeyr Research Support Officer for the Centre of Excellence for Dynamics of Language Email: belinda.hofmeyr@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7626
Mr Gavin Nebauer Audio Officer Email: gavinjn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5195
Ms Leticia Nieuwenhuizen Teaching and Research Officer Email: leticia.nieuwenhuizen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7407
Ms Emily Poelina-Hunter Project Officer Research Unit for Indigenous Language (RUIL) Email: poelina@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3311
Mr Jeremy Taylor Executive Assistant/Events Email: jeremy.taylor@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Ms Wendy Yap Academic Programs Team Leader Email: yapw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5419