Our staff

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Neomy Storch Senior lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Celia Thompson Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5488

European studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102

French studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Bertrand Bourgeois Lecturer in French Studies Email: bbo@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4504
Dr Tess Do Lecturer in French Studies Email: dot@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6987
Professor Véronique Duché A. R. Chisholm Professor of French; Convenor of French Email: veronique.duche@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3516
Associate Professor Jacqueline Dutton Associate Professor in French Studies Email: jld@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6985
Dr Andrew McGregor Lecturer in French Studies Email: ajmcg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8119
Dr Henry Méra Senior Tutor in French Studies Email: hmera@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8129
Ms Diane de Saint-Léger Associate Lecturer in French Studies Email: ddsl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6919
Prof Anne Freadman Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: freadman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 8344 5178
Professor Colin Nettelbeck Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: cnettel@unimelb.edu.au

German studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Heather Benbow Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of European Studies Email: benbow@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5102
Dr Leo Kretzenbacher Senior Lecturer Email: heinz@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 8344 5209
Dr Birgit Lang Senior Lecturer in German Studies; Convenor of German Email: langb@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7667
Professor Alison Lewis Languages Discipline Chair Email: lewisa@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5103
Daniela Mueller DAAD Lecturer Email: daniela.mueller@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9756
Felix Oeser DAAD Language Assistant Email: felix.oeser@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4675
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Dr Esther Jilovsky Fellow (Honorary) Email: estherj@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3826
Dr Doris Brigitte Schuepbach Fellow (Honorary) Email: dschu@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: n/a
Professor Gerhard Schulz Professor Emeritus (Honorary) Email: no-reply5@unimelb.edu.au

Italian studies

Staff member Position Contact
Mr Matthew Absalom Associate Lecturer in Italian Studies Email: mabsalom@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6986
Dr Malcolm Angelucci Cassamarca lecturer in Italian Studies Email: malcolm.angelucci@unimelb.edu.au
Antonella Cavallini Lecturer MAE (Italian Ministry for Foreign Affairs) Email: antonella.cavallini@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 1942
Ms Elisabetta Ferrari Senior Tutor in Italian Studies Email: eferrari@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5177
Dr Vita Giordano Lecturer in Italian Studies; Convenor of Italian Studies Email: vita@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7666
Professor John Hajek Professor in Italian Studies Email: j.hajek@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5168
Dr Andrea Rizzi Australian Research Council Future Fellow 2014-2018; Cassamarca Senior Lecturer in Italian studies Email: arizzi@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 6984
Associate Professor Stephen Kolsky Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdkolsky@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Alli Ahad Fellow (Honorary) Email: a.ahad@unimelb.edu.au
Ms Renata Berto Fellow (Honorary) Email: rberto@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jo-anne Hughson Fellow (Honorary) Email: hughson@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Gregoria Manzin Fellow (Honorary) Email: manzing@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9645
Dr Roberta Trapè Fellow (Honorary) Email: r.trape@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Simon West Fellow (Honorary) Email: swest1@unimelb.edu.au

Linguistics and Applied Linguistics

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Brett Baker Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: bjbaker@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4687
Professor Janet Fletcher Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: janetf@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5190
Dr Paul Gruba Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Applied Linguistics Email: p.gruba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8973
Dr Barbara Kelly Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Linguistics Email: b.kelly@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8986
Professor Tim Mcnamara Professor in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: tfmcna@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4207
Dr Janne Morton Lecturer in English as a Second Language (ESL); Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jannem@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 9688
Dr Jean Mulder Convener of Intensive Academic Program (IAP), Senior Lecturer in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jmulder@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7160
Associate Professor Rachel Nordlinger Associate Professor and Reader in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: racheln@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4227
Assoc. Professor Carsten Roever Associate Professor in Applied Linguistics Email: carsten@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4919
Professor Lesley Stirling Convener of Linguistics; Deputy Head of School Email: lesleyfs@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5192
Dr Neomy Storch Senior lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL; Convenor of ESL Email: neomys@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5208
Dr Celia Thompson Lecturer in Applied Linguistics and ESL Email: celiat@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5488
Professor Gillian Wigglesworth Discipline Chair of Linguistics and Applied Linguistics; Convenor of Applied Linguistics Email: g.wigglesworth@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4215
Annemiek Huisman LTRC Research Fellow Email: annemiek.huisman@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4389
Josh Clothier Research assistant Email: joshuajc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 6383
Brighde Collins RUIL Public Officer Email: brighde.collins@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3311
Dr Susan Douglas Postdoctoral Research Fellow Email: sdouglas@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3608
Ms Kellie Frost Research assistant LTRC Email: kmfrost@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4944
Dr Jennifer Green ARC Research Fellow in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: jag@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3255
Dr Ute Knoch Language and Teaching Research Centre (LTRC) Director; Senior research fellow in LTRC Email: uknoch@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5206
Dr Debbie Loakes Researcher in Linguistics and Applied Linguistics Email: dloakes@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4777
Dr Susy Macqueen Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: susym@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4886
Mr John Mansfield RUIL postdoctoral researcher Email: jmansfield@unimelb.edu.au
Olga Maxwell Researcher Email: omaxwell@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Sally O'Hagan Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: sohagan@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3971
Dr John Pill Research Fellow in the Language Testing Research Centre (LTRC) Email: tpill@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 9763
Dr Ruth Singer DECRA postdoctoral fellow, Research Unit for Indigenous Language Email: rsinger@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 3774
Dr Nick Thieberger Australian Research Council Future Fellow Email: thien@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8952
Associate Professor Catherine Elder Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: caelder@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Kathryn Hill Fellow (Honorary) Email: kmhill@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Catrin Norby Principal Fellow (Honorary) Email: catrinn@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Yvette Slaughter Fellow (Honorary) Email: ymslau@unimelb.edu.au

Russian studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Robert Lagerberg Senior Lecturer in Russian studies; Convenor of Russian Email: robertjl@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: 03 8344 5187
Dr Sally Dalton-Brown Fellow (Honorary) Email: sdalt@unimelb.edu.au
Dr Jonathan Clarke Fellow (Honorary) Email: jemclar@unimelb.edu.au

Spanish and Latin American studies

Staff member Position Contact
Dr Lara Anderson Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: laraba@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4917
Dr Mara Favoretto Senior Lecturer in Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: mara.f@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5183
Associate Professor Adrian Hearn Australian Research Council (ARC) Future Fellow Email: a.hearn@unimelb.edu.au
Professor Alfredo Martinez-Exposito Head, School of Languages and Linguistics; Professor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: alfredo.m@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Dr Vicente Pérez de León Senior Lecturer and Convenor of Spanish and Latin American Studies Email: vicentep@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 4614
Dr Claudia Sandberg Senior Research Fellow Email: claudia.sandberg@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 8567
Ms Maria Paola Gonzalez Sepulveda Lecturer AECID Spanish Agency for International Cooperation Email: mp.gonzalez@unimelb.edu.au
Professor John Griffiths Professorial Fellow (Honorary) Email: jagrif@unimelb.edu.au

Professional

Staff member Position Contact
Charlotte Morgans Manager in the School of Languages and Linguistics Email: c.morgans@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 3612
Mr Rohan Chandran LTRC (Test development specialist) Email: rohanc@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4886
Ms Nadine Forsythe Administrative Assistant Email: nadine.forsythe@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7482
Ms Jen Graham-Williams Executive Assistant Email: jennifer.graham@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 4720
Ms Lisa Lansfield Research Support Officer for the Centre of Excellence for Dynamics of Language Email: lla@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 9035 7758
Mr Gavin Nebauer Audio Officer/Studio Manager Email: gavinjn@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: Office Phone: +61 3 8344 5195 Recording Studio Phone: +61 3 9348 0666 ISDN: +61 3 9348 1024
Ms Letty Nieuwenhuizen Teaching and Research Officer Email: leticia.nieuwenhuizen@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 7407
Ms Wendy Yap Academic Programs Team Leader Email: yapw@unimelb.edu.au
Phone: +61 3 8344 5419